Replacement of two Bendix King radios 165A COM/NAV in Airbus helicopter BK 117

For a customer SPAES GmbH & Co. KG replaced Bendix King COM/NAV systems through the new KX 165A devices in the cockpit of the Airbus helicopter BK 117. The new systems were installed in the slant console. Due to new features of KX 165A – like programmable frequency channels and many further control functions – the work load of the pilot is reduced.

“The installation of the radios was very easy, because the new Bendix King devices could be mounted in place of the old ones. Existing cables, antennas and the installation housing are compatible to the new system, so that we did not need to replace them”, says Joachim Schanz, CEO SPAES.

The new system KX 165A incorporates a number of valuable control features and has the feature to program frequency channels. The program has up to 32 frequency channels for new recall of the frequencies. When interfaced to the KLN 94 GPS, both the standby communication and navigation frequencies can be selected and remotely tuned from the GPS database, reducing the workload of the pilot.

The KX 165A COM/NAV systems were replaced in the Part 145 maintenance organization of the customer. SPAES designed the necessary replacement and required verification documents for the minor change in the Part 21J design organization.

Austausch von zwei Bendix King Funkgeräten KX 165A COM/NAV in Airbus Hubschrauber BK 117

Für einen Kunden tauschte die SPAES GmbH & Co.KG Bendix King COM/NAV Systeme gegen das neue KX 165A im Cockpit des Airbus Hubschraubers BK 117 aus. Die Installation der neuen Geräte erfolgte in der Slant Konsole. Durch die neuen Eigenschaften des KX 165A – wie programmierbare Frequenzkanäle und weiterer vielfältiger Kontrollfunktionen – wird die Arbeitsbelastung des Piloten reduziert.

„Die Montage der Geräte im Cockpit war sehr einfach, da die beiden neuen Bendix King Geräte an Stelle der alten montiert werden konnten. Die bestehende Verkabelung, Antennen und das Einbaugehäuse sind mit dem neuen System kompatibel, so dass wir diese nicht austauschen mussten“, so Joachim Schanz, Geschäftsführer SPAES.

Das neue COM/NAV KX 165A verfügt im Gegensatz zu älteren Modellen über die Eigenschaften Frequenzkanäle zu programmieren. Das KX 165A weist zudem zahlreiche Kontrollfunktionen auf. So gibt es ein Programm mit 32 Frequenzkanälen für den erneuten Aufruf der Frequenzen. Bei Anschluss an das KLN 94 GPS können sowohl die Standby-Kommunikations- als auch die Navigationsfrequenzen ausgewählt und über die GPS-Datenbank ferngesteuert werden. Dadurch wird die Arbeitsbelastung des Piloten verringert.

Der Austausch der KX 165A COM/NAV Geräte erfolgte im Part 145 Instandhaltungsbetrieb des Kunden. Ein Minor Change wurde im Part 21J Entwicklungsbetrieb von SPAES mit den entsprechenden Austausch- und Nachweisdokumenten erstellt.